SoundExchange Announces Two New Board Members

SoundExchange Announces Two New Board Members

WASHINGTON, DC – October 17, 2013 – SoundExchange today announced the appointment of two new members to its Board of Directors. Jim Mahoney and Darius Van Arman will bring their knowledge, experience and passion for the music industry to the SoundExchange board.

Mahoney and Van Arman will fill the positions previously held by Rich Bengloff, president of the American Association of Independent Music (A2IM), and Dick Huey, founder & CEO, Toolshed, respectively. The SoundExchange Board of Directors is comprised of 18 individuals, split evenly between artists and label representatives, serving virtually all aspects of the recorded music industry.

“I am pleased to welcome both Darius and Jim to the SoundExchange Board of Directors. Their expertise will be an invaluable addition to our current members, and I am confident they will work to strengthen SoundExchange’s mission to support, protect and propel the music industry forward in this exciting time of change and growth in the digital music market,” said Michael Huppe, president & CEO, SoundExchange. “I’d also like to sincerely thank Rich Bengloff and Dick Huey for their outstanding service on the SoundExchange board, and dedication to the recorded music industry.”

Jim Mahoney is the vice president of The Association of Independent Music (A2IM), a non-profit trade organization representing U.S. independent music companies. He joined A2IM in March, 2007. Mahoney has nearly 20 years in the independent music sector working in senior management capacities. Prior to A2IM, Mahoney served as president of the hip-hop indie label Fat Beats Records, a company that operates a music label, and a wholesale distribution company, from 1999-2007. Mahoney also served as senior director Urban Music at Roadrunner Records from 1997-1999, and as national director of Marketing & Promotions at Profile Records from 1994-1997.

Darius Van Arman founded the independent record label Jagjaguwar in 1996. He is currently co-owner and founder of Secretly Label Group (the labels Dead Oceans, Jagjaguwar, Numero Group and Secretly Canadian) and co-owner of the affiliated company SC Distribution, an independent distribution company headquartered in Bloomington, Indiana.

Highlights for the label group and the distribution company include Jagjaguwar recording-artist Bon Iver winning two Grammy Awards in 2012 (Best New Artist and Best Alternative Album) and Secretly Canadian recording-artist Antony & the Johnsons winning the highly-coveted Mercury Music Prize in 2005 for the album “I Am A Bird Now.” In 2010, Van Arman co-founded Fort William Artist Management (Grizzly Bear, Foxygen, Beirut, Van Dyke Parks, et al.). Van Arman currently serves on the board of A2IM, and is a founding Worldwide Independent Network (WIN) Council member.

“I am honored to join the SoundExchange board and to work with their exceptional team,” said Mahoney. “I look forward to sharing my experience to help shape the direction and growth of this vital ally for music creators. I will approach this responsibility with the goal of ensuring that the management and board of SoundExchange continue to make every effort to build and reward the confidence of all artists and labels in all of our efforts.”

“SoundExchange is now in the very special position — sitting at the intersection of music and technology – where it is able to act as a powerful steward on behalf of the whole creative community,” said Van Arman. “I’m excited to be a part of the SoundExchange board where I can support the fight for fairness and the value and future of music.”